ESPN.com – AJ Lee first sees cyber self in ‘WWE 13′

31/03/2013 23:41

 

By Jon Robinson | ESPN.com
A few weeks ago, ESPN Playbook spoke with WWE Raw general manager AJ Lee about her love for video games.

But at the time, Lee was still waiting on word whether she would be featured in “WWE 13,” marking the first time she’d appear in a game without having to resort to the create-a-wrestler mode like the rest of us.

We caught up with Lee in New York City at the official “WWE 13” preview event, and not only was Lee ecstatic to reveal that she was indeed in the game as a downloadable character, but she even got her hands on an early copy to test out her virtual moves.

“Oh my gosh, it’s so surreal, I can’t even wrap my brain around this,” she said minutes after playing as herself for the first time. “This is over 10 years in the making for me and just a dream come true. I’m the luckiest person in the world.”

For her first match, Lee went all out, choosing to wrestle her boss, Stephanie McMahon.

“They asked me who I wanted to fight, and I’m so obsessed with Stephanie I knew I wanted to face her,” Lee said with a huge grin. “I love her, but for some reason I also want to fight her, so it was so amazing to see what it would look like if we were in the ring together.”

And while Lee’s trademark skip around the ring wasn’t in the game, the hottest female personality to hit the sport in years still says she couldn’t be happier about the way her character turned out.


“They chose my favorite gear, the shorts with the green… green is my favorite color, and they just have everything down perfect,” Lee said. “She looks just like me. I don’t know how they did it, but it’s insane. Every time I do a move in the game, I’m screaming at the screen, ‘I do that!’ I did a spinning back kick, sliced bread, and a shining wizard. Then I was looking at my taunts and I was really happy to see she has the ‘Yes!’ chant. I love that. And then there was another taunt that was a little too feminine for my liking, so when I’m kicking people in the game, I think I’ll skip that one and stick to the ‘Yes! Yes! Yes!’

“I can already see what I’m doing for the next few months. I’m going to be sitting at home on the couch, beating people up as the virtual me. It seems a little sad, but I don’t care. I’ve been waiting 13 years for my own video game character, and now that it’s here, I’m playing every chance I can get.”